E-governance challenges for Narendra Modi

CyberMedia is organizing a close-door round table with Gujarat chief minister, Narendra Modi to brief BJP’s PM candidate about Internet and Digital Economy challenges faced by the industry.

Narendra Modi is addressing 400 CEOs in New Delhi and is also the chief guest at Cybermedia ICT Awards, a prestigious award which aims at recognizing and encouraging leaders who have built the Indian ICT Industry.

Despite strong capability of the IT industry, the impact on IT has been limited in various sectors like health, education, financial inclusion, manufacturing, governance, cyber security and the domestic market accounts for a small fraction of less than 20 percent of the turnover.

The following recommendations form part of the policy purview with respect to e-governance:

1. Modify procurement processes to enable and encourage the IT industry to provide e-Governance solutions and services in a partnership mode under a new framework that puts the onus on industry to execute projects and on government to re-engineer processes to enable fully online government services wherever possible and ensure payments linked to service delivery.

2. Procurement processes need to be modified to enable and in fact, encourage innovative companies to participate in bids and demonstrate the value of their products and innovations.

3. Government can use these powerful tools to enable citizens to partner with government and participate actively in governance, set priorities and improve accountability.

CEO’s participating in the closed door meeting include: Cisco (Jeff White); Google (Rajan Anandan); IBM (Shanker Annaswamy); NII (Kiran Karnik); Tech Mahindra (CP Gurnani); Nokia (P Balaji); Airtel (Akhil Gupta); COAI (Rajan Mathews); Alcatel-Lucent (Munish Seth); Dell (Alok Ohrie); Galgotia University (Dhruv Galgotia and Suneel Galgotia); HP (Neelam Dhawan); Indus Towers (Shantha Raju); PVG Menon (IESA); Rajesh Janey (EMC); Rajiv Srivastava (MAIT); Alok Bharadwaj (Canon); Reliance ADA (Gurdeep Singh); Sagitaur Ventures (BV Naidu); Samsung (Vineet Taneja); SAP (Suprakash Chaudhuri); Smart Link (KR Naik); STPI (Omkar Rai); TEMA (NK Goyal); Videocon (Raj Kumar Dhoot and Arvind Bali); and Vodafone (Sunil Sood).

Also Read

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: