Government Appoints Dr Jagadesh and Rajiv Sharma to TRAI


Dr M Jagadesh Kumar, professor, IIT Delhi

The government has appointed Dr M Jagadesh Kumar and Rajiv Sharma as part time members of Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI).

Dr M Jagadesh Kumar is professor at IIT, Delhi whereas Rajiv Sharma is former secretary general, National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) has been appointed as part-time members of TRAI for a period of three years or until they attain the age of sixty-five years, whichever is earlier.

Dr M Jagadesh Kumar was born in Mamidala, Nalgonda district of Andhra Pradesh. He obtained his MS (EE) and PhD (EE) degrees from the department of electrical engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras.

Currently, Dr Jagadesh is NXP (Philips) chair professor established at IIT Delhi by Philips Semiconductors (now NXP semiconductors India). He is also chief investigator of the Nano-scale Research Facility (NRF) being built at IIT Delhi and also chief investigator of the Center of Excellence for Nanodevices and Systems funded by ministry of human resource development, government of India.

Rajiv Sharma assignments include field postings such as that of district magistrate and collector, head of public sector undertakings, departmental head in state government, senior administrative and policy planning positions in key ministries such as ministry of finance and ministry of coal.

Rajiv Sharma is the former secretary general of the National Human Rights Commission. Sharma is a 1976 batch Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer of Rajasthan Cadre. Prior to his appointment to NHRC, he was holding the post of additional chief secretary, government of Rajasthan and principal resident commissioner at New Delhi.

Also Read

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: