Ram Nath Kovind Elected India’s 14th President

Ram Nath Kovind, the NDA candidate for the Indian presidential election, is all set to be the country’s 14th President. The former governor of Bihar defeated his opponent, the joint opposition candidate Meira Kumar by a huge margin.

While 65.65% electorates, the MPs and MLAs, voted for Kovind, a mere 34.35% voted for the former speaker Meira Kumar.

Kovind secured 2930 votes with a value of 7,02,044 and Meira Kumar got 1,844 votes with the value of 3,67,314, and 77 votes were invalid,” said Anoopp Mishra, returning officer, Presidential Election, 2017.

In terms of MPs (Member of Parliament), a total of 522 MPs voted in favour of Kovind while 225 voted for Meira Kumar. A Total of 771 elected MPs were eligible to vote this time.

The political parties that supported and voted for Kovind, besides the NDA, include the Biju Janata Dal, the JDU, the Telengana Rashtra Samithi, the AIADMK, the Yuvajana Shramika Rythu Congress Party and the INLD.

Meira Kumar got support from parties like the Samajwadi Party, the Bahujan Samjwadi Party, the AAP, the RJD, the Trinamool Congress, the Communist Parties, the DMK, the Nationalist Congress Party, the Jammy and Kashmir National Conference, besides the Congress Party.

Current President Pranab Mukherjee’s tenure ends on 24 July and Ram Nath Kovind will take oath the next day to become the 14th President of India

5 Things To Know About Ram Nath Kovind

  1. Ram Nath Kovind, aged 71, was born in Uttar Pradesh. He was the private secretary to former Prime Minister Morarji Desai
  2. Selected for the Indian Administrative Services in the allied category but preferred to practice the law in Delhi High Court and Supreme Court
  3. Entered politics in 1994 and became a member of Parliament in Rajya Sabha from UP
  4. Kovind was appointed Governor of Bihar in August, 2015
  5. He had represented India in the UN and addressed the United Nations General Assembly in October 2002

Also Read

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: